

## **Charleston County News Release**

Release Number: 2819 Date: August 22, 2007

## Charleston County Updates its Hazard Mitigation Plan

The Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Project Committee has updated and finalized the 2007-2008 Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan.

The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* is necessary for local government entities within Charleston County to be eligible for several pre and post-hazard event sources of federal funding.

This plan was originally developed and adopted in 1999, and has been updated each year since then to keep it current with federal requirements.

Charleston County Government coordinates the committee that updates this plan, which has membership from all local government entities in Charleston County, including municipalities and special purpose districts, as well as numerous other representatives from private, public and non-profit sectors.

The 2007-2008 Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan was updated to include hazardous events that occurred between April of 2006 and May of 2007, such as floods, tornadoes and hazardous material situations.

Revisions were made to the Hazard Assessment and Problem Assessment sections of the plan, and also to committee member lists due to personnel changes. Local government entities prepared status reports and action plans for 2007-2008 to be included in the plan.

The following entities within Charleston County have adopted the *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan*:

Charleston Commissioners of Public Works Charleston County Park and Recreation Commission City of Charleston City of Folly Beach City of Isle of Palms City of North Charleston College of Charleston Cooper River Parks and Playground Commission County of Charleston James Island Public Service District Mt. Pleasant Water Works Commission North Charleston District North Charleston Sewer District St. Andrew's Parish Parks and Playground Commission St. Andrew:s Public Service District St. John's Fire District Commission St. Paul's Fire District Commission Town of Awendaw Town of Hollywood Town of James Island

Town of Kiawah Island Town of Lincolnville Town of McClellanville Town of Meggett Town of Mount Pleasant Town of Ravenel Town of Rockville Town of Seabrook Island Town of Sullivan's Island

A copy of the 2007 – 2008 Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan, including the status reports, is available at the Charleston County Building Services Department in the Lonnie Hamilton, III Public Services Building, 4045 Bridge View Drive, Room A-311, North Charleston, SC 29405-7464.

<u>Click here</u> to view the Hazard Mitigation Plan that is posted on the Charleston County Web site for review and comment.

Any questions regarding the plan may be addressed to the Charleston County Building Services Department at (843) 202-6940.