

Charleston County News Release

Release Number: 2898 Date: July 1, 2008

Public Meeting on Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan Update on July 17

Charleston County Government is holding a public meeting to obtain citizens' input on the updated *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan*. The plan provides the blueprint for actions undertaken by all local governments throughout Charleston County to reduce losses associated with all types of hazardous events.

The meeting will be held at 6 p.m. on Thursday, July 17, in Conference Room B-337 on the first floor of the Lonnie Hamilton, III, Public Services Building (4045 Bridge View Drive; North Charleston, SC 29405).

The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* was initially adopted by Charleston County Government and many of the municipalities within the county in 1999. Since then, the plan has also been adopted by special purpose district governments in Charleston County and the College of Charleston.

The plan is required under the federal Disaster Mitigation Act for local governments to be eligible for certain pre- and post-disaster funding. Area local governments will be considering the plan for re-adoption during July to Sept., 2008, as required to maintain their funding eligibility.

The updates made to the plan this year have been reviewed and approved by multiple committees with representation from all local government entities within Charleston County, local businesses, non-profit organizations and interested citizens.

The purpose of the public meeting is to obtain additional input from the public for any other revisions or recommendations to the updated plan.

"The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* is unique in that 29 local government entities in the County have come together to develop common goals and recommendations to help make our community better able to withstand hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, and other natural and technological hazards," said Carl Simmons, Charleston County's Building Services Director. "By working together, our local governments continue to show that our collective interests are in protecting our citizens to the extent possible from losses associated with all types of hazards that can occur in our area."

The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* is posted on the Charleston County Web site at <u>www.charelstoncounty.org</u> under the "What's New" tab for the public to review and offer comments. Anyone with questions or comments regarding the plan can call Carl Simmons, Charleston County's Building Services Director, at (843) 202-6940.

SIDEBAR – Background Information on the Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan

- The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* contains a list of all types of hazard events that have occurred in the Charleston County area over time. For example, there is a listing of hurricanes that have affected the area since 1804.
- Each government entity that adopted the *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* has an action plan included in the plan that lists steps they plan to take in the next year toward making their community more disaster resistant.
- The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* is highly creditable under the National Community Rating System, so it contributes to the flood insurance premium discounts that many local residents receive under this program.
- The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* has been adopted and is being updated in 2008 by the following entities:
 - Charleston County Government
 - Town of Awendaw
 - Charleston County Park and Recreation Commission
 - Charleston Water System
 - City of Charleston
 - Commissioners of Public Works for the Town of Mt. Pleasant
 - College of Charleston
 - Cooper River Parks & Playground Commission
 - City of Folly Beach
 - Town of Hollywood
 - City of Isle of Palms
 - Town of James Island
 - James Island Public Service District
 - Town of Kiawah Island
 - Town of Lincolnville
 - Town of McClellanville
 - Town of Meggett
 - Town of Mt. Pleasant
 - City of North Charleston
 - North Charleston District
 - North Charleston Sewer District
 - Town of Ravenel
 - Town of Rockville
 - St. Andrews Parks & Playground Commission
 - St. Andrews Public Service District
 - St. John's Fire District Commission
 - St. Paul's Fire District Commission
 - Town of Seabrook Island
 - Town of Sullivan's Island