

**Charleston County News Release** 

Release Number: 3038 Date: August 12, 2009

## View the 2009-2010 Charleston County Hazard Mitigation Plan online:

http://www.charlestoncounty.org/index2.asp?p=/departments/BuildingServices/HazardPlan/HazPl an.htm#Cover

## **Charleston County Updates Hazard Mitigation Plan**

Plan available online for public review and comment

The Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Project Committee has updated and finalized the <u>2009-2010 Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan</u>.

The plan was updated to include hazardous events that occurred between May of 2008 and June of 2009, such as floods, tornadoes and hazardous material situations.

Revisions were also made to the <u>Hazard Assessment</u> and <u>Problem Assessment</u> sections of the plan, and to committee member lists due to personnel changes. Local government entities prepared status reports and action plans for 2009-2010 to be included in the plan.

The *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan* is necessary for local government entities within Charleston County to be eligible for several pre and post-hazard event sources of federal funding.

The plan was originally developed and adopted in 1999, and has been updated each year since to keep it current with federal requirements.

<u>Charleston County Government</u> coordinates the committee that updates this plan, which has membership from all <u>local government entities</u> in Charleston County, including municipalities and special purpose districts, as well as numerous other representatives from private, public and non-profit sectors.

The following entities within Charleston County have adopted the *Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan*:

- Charleston County Park and Recreation Commission
- Charleston County School District
- Charleston Water System
- City of Charleston
- City of Folly Beach
- City of Isle of Palms
- City of North Charleston
- College of Charleston
- Cooper River Parks and Playground Commission
- County of Charleston
- James Island Public Service District
- Mt. Pleasant Water Works Commission
- North Charleston District

- North Charleston Sewer District
- St. Andrew's Parish Parks and Playground Commission
- St. Andrew's Public Service District
- St. John's Fire District Commission
- St. Paul's Fire District Commission
- Town of Awendaw
- Town of Hollywood
- Town of James Island
- Town of Kiawah Island
- Town of Lincolnville
- Town of McClellanville
- Town of Meggett
- Town of Mount Pleasant
- Town of Ravenel
- Town of Rockville
- Town of Seabrook Island
- Town of Sullivan's Island

A copy of the 2009 – 2010 Charleston Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan, including the status reports, is available on the <u>Charleston County Web site</u> and at the <u>Charleston County Building</u> <u>Inspections Department</u> in the Lonnie Hamilton, III Public Services Building, 4045 Bridge View Drive, Room A-311, North Charleston, SC 29405-7464.

If you have questions about the plan, contact the Charleston County Building Inspection Services Department at (843) 202-6940.